Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Deja vu on a mega scale!!! I soooooo wanted to finish my little gifts before the happy arrival - and I DID!!  :-)

Deja vu on a mega scale!!! I soooooo wanted to finish ALL my little gifts before the happy arrival – and I DID!! 🙂 Exactly 3 & 1/2 weeks saw the creations of two cot quilts, 2 cot tidies, 2 lots of bunting and an extra request from my mum as a special gift! And I have been prompted by Sarah       (the expectant and very happy mother to be – to do a little post!) With literally only a matter of days, at most a couple of weeks to go!!

I’m happy to report that I’ve not been kidnapped by aliens!….. and I’m still on this planet…even though I’ve been missing for a short while…….as you’ll see during the post…I’ve been a little preoccupied of late for a multiple couple of good reasons :-D!

And so the first one was finished...I had to prepare myself, for everytime I made one with love and care and plenty of attention to detail....a second was to be just as well carefully completed

And so the first one was finished!!!…I had to prepare myself, for every time I made one, with love, care and plenty of attention to detail….a second was to be just as well and carefully completed! I drew and separately constructed every little piece of applique on all the items. My mind was always on the attention to detail and safety – every thread was double knotted at the beginning and end and every fabric was painstakingly turned back on the quilts, and, treble stitched into place – leaving no doubt that anything could ever fray, or indeed, ever become loose! With two special little additions on their way, nothing could ever be left to chance!! Absolutely everything on the quilts is made from cotton, including the wadding so that care and cleaning, and of course steam ironing to kill germs is always possible! All fabrics have been  pre-washed (for shrinkage and dye removal) which should mean that nothing, or very little, will effect or change their condition in the future years. Maybe they might even become little heirlooms 😉 What else have I been up to ???…Well……….Sarah had a couple of other ideas for her nursery — but I must point out that she wanted a complete surprise as to all the things I was making — I did ask if she wanted to check out the fabrics before I started……..BUT , ”No!” was her response….” I trust you completely,and I like surprises ;-D!!” OMG… no pressure then????!! Our Nephew, Richard and Sarah, his wife, had a very definite desire to do their nursery in a Beatrix Potter, Peter Rabbit and Jemima Puddle Duck theme( even though they don’t know the gender of their babies) though whilst popular in the eighties, they couldn’t source new of what they wanted now! – So, I offered to try and create something for them as a gift!

To give you some idea of how many (and how tiny my hand stitches are) I placed a little pin for scale!

To give you some idea of how many (and how tiny my hand stitches are) I placed a little pin for scale!

A little close up of the cot tidy applique - everything drawn, cut and placed by hand before hand stitching in place....Jemima looks so cute, even though she is only half the size of my hand overall...definitely worth all the effort :-)

A little close up of the cot tidy applique – everything drawn, cut and placed by hand before hand stitching in place….Jemima looks so cute, even though she is only half the size of my hand overall on the little pockets…definitely worth all the effort  🙂

Some of Sarah’s wish list………… Bunting! Cot tidies! (What on earth are they???? – some investigation later and my own take on them – of course produced………….

Cot tidies x 2

Cot tidies x 2! With coordinating straps to firmly and safely attach to the end of the cots. You might have guessed by now, that Sarah Has planned an apple green nursery (even though I’ve thrown in a PEA GREEN accent colour!)  I did warn her about my ”strange choice’ ..but I’ll let you know what she really thinks! Oh My! I do hope she like it!!

A surprise gift!

A surprise gift! A Peter Rabbit doorstop mini Dumpy! I even managed to tailor a fully lined jacket from my own pattern design!

Yay! my ears are posable!

”Yay! my ears are amazing and I have carrots too”………OMG as soon as my fingers recover, I’m ready to start more new wonderful things! 🙂