Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Christmas table runner from more bits and bobs. After sifting through my ever diminishing Christmas stash (note to self... go to new year sales for more bargains...!) I came across a small selection of printed cotton squares which I bought a couple years back in my eagerness as a new patchworker. Stored deep down under an eclectic mass of small offcuts, I always thought using them was cheating somehow?! Though being on a thrift drive of not buying at the moment, I am driven to use up my available supplies! So armed with 33(3.5 x 3.5 inch) squares, a yard or so of green and red fabrics....what should I make??? .....obviously, you know I have made a table runner with twelve already.....

A Christmas table runner from more stashed bits and bobs!
After sifting through my ever diminishing Christmas stash (note to self… go to new year sales for more bargains…!) I came across a small selection of printed cotton squares which I bought a couple years back in my eagerness as a new patchworker. Stored deep down under an eclectic mass of small offcuts, I always thought using them was cheating somehow?!…like I should be creating the pictures myself, being an artist!! Though, being on a thrift drive, of not buying at the moment, I am driven to use up my available supplies! So armed with 33(3.5 x 3.5 inch) squares, also a yard or so of green and red fabrics….what should I make??? …..obviously, you know I have made a table runner with twelve of said squares already…..:-)

Table runner packaged and available ready for shipping on my Etsy store at a bargain basement price.....due to my guilt of making things with preprinted squares LOL!!

Table runner packaged and available…now ready for shipping, on my Etsy store, at a bargain basement price…..due to my guilt of making things with preprinted squares LOL!!

NEXT... A twelve piece set, six place mats and six matching coasters/mug rugs* (*love that term!!) Also using some of the same fabrics and  for all the labour intensive hand crafting, also, a bargain price (okay I'm still in the guilt zone of the printed cotton squares ;-/ LOL But a beautiful set which can be used year on year!! Then.....

NEXT… A twelve piece set, six place mats and six matching coasters/mug rugs* (*love that term!!) Also using some of the same fabrics and for all the labour intensive hand crafting, also, at a great bargain price (okay I’m still in the guilt zone of the printed cotton squares ;-/ LOL) But, they are a beautiful set which can be used year on year!! If you are counting..?…then you will know I still have nine squares left! More on those soon 🙂 no doubt still at silly prices! Anyway, after almost a week of staring at red and green (then confronting my face in the mirror, I looked like a ghoul (to my own eyes)- as the colours make it almost impossible to register any pinkness of skin tone during that time) so, I thought I’d give my cones and receptors time to readjust. Then came across this…..

I found some more printed cotton squares....!

I found some more printed cotton squares….! (A sneaky look into my TIDY workspace – well apart from the small cotton bit on the floor 😉 Little dogs no less – the snipped out bits are the WIP ATM..goodness knows when I even bought those?? Anyway, the change of colour was kinder to my eyes, so…

...progress so far. To be fair it's only had about an hour of my attention before the light went for the night.

…progress so far. To be fair it’s only had about an hour of my attention before the light went for the night. With all felt applique, drawn from the inspiration of the little printed squares then cut by hand, I’m hoping it will turn out to be a fine little cushion/pillow cover by tomorrow!!!

Who needs more?? Working with my supplies – here’s the results of the week so far! Hope you’re all having a great relaxing weekend too?!?! 😉

