Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Spotty pin-wheel lap quilt and coordinating cushion cover Left with  several small pieces of spotty colourful cotton fabrics from previous projects and a meter and a bit of a lovely turquoise cotton print , which never seems to match anything I ever make (impulse buy - like you do;-)! ) I decided to combine them all together...after all on their own they seemed useless, so nothing to loose

Spotty pin-wheel lap quilt and coordinating cushion cover
Left with several small pieces of spotty colourful cotton fabrics from previous projects and a meter and a bit of a lovely turquoise cotton print, which never seems to match anything I ever make… impulse buy – like you do ;-)!  I decided to combine them all together…after all, on their own they seemed useless, so nothing to lose?! From the four spotty fabrics and a piece of white cotton fabric (which has the same print as the turquoise) I determined I had enough to cut out five 4 x 4 inch squares of each colour and twenty white ones. Once I had all my squares, I then cut diagonally to give four triangles from each square, having done this to all 40 squares I then set about sewing them back together including one of each of the four coloured triangles and four white triangles to form a pin-wheel square, which once ironed to flatten all the overlapping seams was trimmed back to a neat 4.5 x 4.5 inch square and surrounded by a narrow 1.25  inch border of white. Loosing the seam allowance sewing on the borders I was left with 20 x 6.5 inch bordered pin-wheel squares. Carefully measuring for long borders of the turquoise which I wanted to surround the panel, I found I had enough left to cut 20 x (6.5 x 6.5 inch) squares of the turquoise too – so I played around with different combinations until I decided to on the straightforward panel above and proceeded to sew the squares together, then surrounded with the turquoise 3.25 inch wide long lengths I had put aside at the beginning. Once all that was done I marked out the diamond grid for quilting, used a 100% cotton wadding as the middle layer and a plain white cotton for the reverse, then hand quilted over the entire panel 🙂  Once the excess oversized wadding and backing were trimmed I found a darker turquoise marble printed cotton fabric which tied in perfectly as the binding. If by now you have counted the squares on the lap quilt, you’ll have noticed I didn’t use all of my 20 pin-wheel squares for the design…so, having a couple left over I decided to make them into a coordinating cushion/pillow cover!

 which also used up the small remaining spotty fabrics. The same diamond grid was drawn over the piece though this time I used a soft springy  Spotty pin wheel cushion/pillow cover Using this time synthetic wadding for  quilting and finished with a simple envelope opening on the back of the cushion/pillow cover

…which also used up the small remaining spotty fabrics. The same diamond grid was drawn over the piece, though this time I used a soft springy synthetic wadding for
quilting and finished with a simple envelope opening on the back of the 17 x 17 inch (430 x 430 mm) cushion/pillow cover

Hand quilted spotty pin-wheel lap quilt                      44 inches x 34 inches (1120 mm x 865 mm)  I'm really happy with the end result as the little leftovers and the lonesome turquoise fabrics compliment each other in such a simple pretty way :-D

Hand quilted spotty pin-wheel lap quilt 44 inches x 34 inches (1120 mm x 865 mm) Both the throw/quilt and the cushion/pillow cover are now available in my Etsy store 
I’m really happy with the end result as the little leftovers and the lonesome turquoise fabrics compliment each other in such a simple pretty way 😀

Having been MIA for a little while (spending a lovely time with our daughter and her partner as they plan their wedding) I have eventually got around to doing a little post on a couple of creations I finished before we left – a pretty throw/quilt and coordinating cushion/pillow cover 🙂

