Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Red Star design patchwork quilted tote/bag. After recovering from my little oil painting marathon ;-), which are all still weeks away from drying out yet,  I couldn't resist rummaging around with some small odd shaped offcuts I had. First I had one idea, then changed my mind for another, in the end I worked the two simultaneously...firstly the tote..... After some head scratching and lots of measuring I decided I had enough red print and cream and black print fabric to make a small tote...proper patchwork style :-D  After making six patterned samples of the star design, I once again decided to give the tote a reversible wear option, using one of the panels diagonally for the reverse, four for the front and the remaining one became the multi-pocket feature - perfect, none left out or lonesome! Having hand quilted both sides, I'd made sure I had enough fabric for the lining to match as well on this bag. A couple of finishing touches, were adding some coordinating buttons to strengthen  the multi-pocket and as a feature on the front of the magnetic clasp flap. It's really turned out beautifully,  well I think so, and I love the colours together :-) secondly, the other make.....patchwork pinwheel placemats

Red Star design patchwork quilted tote/bag.
After recovering from my little oil painting marathon ;-), which are all still weeks away from drying out yet, I couldn’t resist rummaging around with some small odd shaped offcuts I had. First I had one idea, then changed my mind for another, in the end I worked the two simultaneously…firstly, here’s the tote…..
After some head scratching and lots of measuring I decided I had enough red print and cream and black print fabric to make a small tote…proper patchwork style 😀
After making six patterned samples of the star design, I once again decided to give the tote a reversible wear option, using one of the panels diagonally for the reverse….(see below) four for the front and the remaining one became the multi-pocket feature – perfect, none left out or lonesome! Having hand quilted both sides, I’d made sure I had enough fabric for the lining to match as well on this bag. A couple of finishing touches, were adding some coordinating buttons to strengthen the multi-pocket and as a feature on the front of the magnetic clasp flap. It’s really turned out beautifully, well I think so, and I love the colours together 🙂
secondly, the other make…..patchwork pin-wheel place-mats

Using one of the other star blocks for the reverse

Using one of the other star blocks for the reverse

And, the sixth one for the multi-pocket :-)

And, the sixth one for the multi-pocket 🙂

Set of 4 patchwork hand quilted mats and coasters :-) Quite a busy week all in all!

Set of 4 patchwork hand quilted mats and coasters 🙂
Quite a busy week all in all!

