Tags

, , ,

My 'roof' garden! Being married to a slater and tiler does have some benefits...not least, having roof repairs for free ;-)  !! A while back I mentioned digging up our 'wall to wall' grass in the front garden and voiced I would like  some kind or circular design....maybe even using some roofing materials ! - knowing my husband had quite a few laying around ....after pilfering a small amount of old chimney pots and a large amount of roofing tiles along with a half ton of slate chippings .,...the creation of my 'roof garden'  was almost complete - just a few little plants would see it finished!! I might just mention, I was the one delegated to shovel mix 20 or so wheelbarrows full of cement to slice and dice the roofing tiles, which my Dearest so professionally stood in a circle to create!!....and then he took all the adoration ;-/  Well why not indeed...I got the end result I had imagined :-D My 'roof' garden! Being married to a slater and tiler does have some benefits...not least, having roof repairs for free ;-) !! A while back I mentioned digging up our 'wall to wall' grass in the front garden and voiced I would like some kind or circular design....maybe even using some roofing materials ! - knowing my husband had quite a few laying around ....after pilfering a small amount of old chimney pots and a large amount of roofing tiles along with a half ton of slate chippings...the creation of my 'roof garden' was almost complete - just a few little plants would see it finished!! I might just mention, I was the one delegated to shovel mix 20 or so wheelbarrows full of cement to slice and dice the roofing tiles, which my Dearest so professionally stood in a circle to create!!....and then he took all the adoration ;-/ Well why not indeed?!...I got the end result I had imagined :-D Over the past few years it has housed some spectacular flowers - not to mention becoming a home, to many thousands of ants- as long as they stay outdoors they are welcome!!!


Being married to a slater and tiler does have some benefits…not least, having roof repairs for free 😉 !!
A while back I mentioned digging up our ‘wall to wall’ grass in the front garden and voiced I would like some kind or circular design….maybe even using some roofing materials ! – knowing my husband had quite a few laying around ….after pilfering a small amount of old chimney pots and a large amount of roofing tiles along with a half ton of slate chippings…the creation of my ‘roof garden’ was almost complete – just a few little plants would see it finished!!
I might just mention, I was the one delegated to shovel mix 20 or so wheelbarrows full of cement to slice and dice the roofing tiles, which my Dearest so professionally stood in a circle to create!!….and then he took all the adoration ;-/ Well why not indeed?!…I got the end result I had imagined 😀
Over the past few years it has housed some spectacular flowers – not to mention becoming a home, to many thousands of ants- as long as they stay outdoors they are welcome!!!

Designing on a different level – up-cycling roofing materials!A roof garden on Terra Firma !!

