Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

DSCF6349

”Carol singing” Christmas decorative penguin characters.

These cute little handmade penguins are my creations for today! Having had a ”TIDY” table ALL weekend, well almost… as my children were home for a short visit, So, to fill the void of them leaving, this morning I set about ‘untidying’ by getting all the fabrics ready to create my penguins. They are little characters I have been making for the last couple of years as Christmas presents for friends and family. Each and every one of them is just a little different. I created a simple little pattern and use small left over pieces of fabrics to adorn them with little scarves, shawls and hats. In this case some red tartan pattern cotton. Once I have the small fabrics cut out I painstakingly scratch away with a needle to fray the edges to give a fringe effect to their clothing. Once I have all the accessories ready I make the simple body shape which I stuffed with a synthetic wadding. Then I cut out, with pinking shears, the white penguin head and breast shape which I hand stitched together. After sewing the hats, scarf and shawl to the stuffed shapes I cut a small rectangle of orange felt for the beak and rolled it into a tight tube shape. After stitching it in place a couple of tiny beads were added for eyes, a couple of flipper feet also in orange felt then a tiny jingle bell to finish.

Never satisfied with making one of something I decided to make a second pair this time wearing green tartan pattern fabric!

DSCF6352

 

 

