Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Ration Book Shopping

Ration Book Shopping

This is the second of the two canvases I painted a few years ago it was done after I had had an enquiry about maybe doing a series of nostalgic images. The theme was for the elderly to look back and remember, even to try and jog the memories of those finding life hard to recall as they had developed mental degeneration. Sadly the inquiry came to nothing in the end due to funding and the like, but it sparked some thoughts within me of how I would approach this if I had been commissioned?                         Whilst, with the first painting, I primarily worked from an old photograph, this painting was entirely from my head. I was not born until the 1960’s and therefore was not from the age of rationing. However, having stayed with my Grandparents for much of school holidays (Both my Parents worked full time) I do remember going shopping everyday to the corner shops on terrace streets with my Grandma. It was very much like this, inside those little old fashioned shops.  Anyway, as with most of my art, my ‘Thing’ has always been to introduce as much perspective as possible into a scene, this as you see is no exception. I took the scene as far away as possible by making the opposite corner of the street, outside the shop, venture off into a side street and beyond. This painting (and the previous post) were painted with emulsion paints, mixed in sepia tones on a 100 cm x 100 cm box canvas and then over varnished with non yellowing water based varnish.

